She Is Focused

December 8, 2009

December Releases: Chris Brown, Snoop Dogg, Clipse and others

Filed under: Chat 'bout,New Music — Felicia @ 5:32 pm

Big day for album releases today. I was surprised to see a couple of these albums today. Either I’ve been living under a rock or the promotion for these artists has been extremely poor. Let’s jump right in:

Chris Brown

Graffiti

Jive Records

Chris Brown’s talent cannot be denied. He’s still a very young artist and this is his third album since his debut back in 2005. Most of the album seems to reflect on his past and very public relationship with his ex, but if you can look past the begging and pleading for forgiveness, you will see that he’s definitely grown a bit as an artist. I love the first single, “I Can Transform Ya” produced by Swizz Beatz. I really don’t see this album doing too well because it seems a little too soon after his legal troubles and his fans are still torn on whether to forgive and forget, and ban him for life.

Snoop Dogg

Malice N’ Wonderland

Priority

This has got to be Snoop’s millionth album. His catalog is so long (no pun intended, no seriously), that there was no way I going to research how many albums we’ve seen from the West Coast veteran since 1993’s Doggystyle. While I’m not a fan of West Coast Rap, Snoop has always released music even I can take pleasure in.  I’m not feeling “Gangsta Luv” with The Dream. Quite frankly I think that song’s whack. But “I Wanna Rock” is my ish and a great way to close out 2009’s list of top songs. Good job Calvin!

Gucci Mane

The State vs. Radric Davis

Warner Bros. Records

Gucci’s one of those artists that’s truly a known unknown. He’s been releasing underground music for several years with great reception in the South. 2004-2005 is when he first started seeing a taste of mainstream recognition with his huge single “Icy” followed by the contagious “Freaky Girl” from Hard To Kill”. Fast-forward to 2009; Gucci Mane had a stellar year. I would even go so far as to say this was his year. He’s had collaborations with many big names including Mariah Carey, Lil Wayne, Omarion, Mario and several others. The State vs. Radric Davis is classic Gucci whose been releasing his mixtapes and taking shots at haters for years, however with his recent legal trouble, here’s hoping that his new fan base will be loyal enough to keep him afloat. I highly doubt he will be gone and forgotten pending his release from potential jail time.

Clipse

Til The Casket Drops

Columbia

I’ve always been a fan of Clipse. They’re a group who you really dig, but you don’t think twice about picking up their album in stores; for me at least. Clipse have been a little quiet the past couple years on the music scene. Some would argue that their style/image doesn’t quite fit the current status quo. But you can still squeeze out several good records from a Clipse album. Til The Casket Drops features production from Pharrell, per usual. I like “I’m Good”, although I’ve heard a lot of negative reviews of the record. Maybe I’ll do these guys a solid and listen to the album from start to finish to be fair.

Timbaland

Shock Value II

Interscope Records

Timbaland returns with the follow-up to 2007’s successful album, Timbaland Presents: Shock Value. I have to be honest with you, I don’t believe I’ve heard one single released from this album yet which is extremely surprising. With the handful of hits released from the previous album you would think he’d have at least of couple songs in rotation by now. However based on the last album alone, I’m sure this one would be quite comparable to the last.

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for keeping me up with the record. Being away at school definitely keeps me out of the recent release loop.

    *Jos The Boss likes this.

    Comment by Jos The Boss — December 12, 2009 @ 2:19 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

