She Is Focused

November 23, 2009

2009 AMA Best Musical Performance Goes To…

Filed under: Chat 'bout,New Music — Felicia @ 11:42 am

I don’t typically watch music award shows much anymore, but I was packing for a trip and decided to turn it on to listen to the performances. Every now and then I’d stop to check out the full performance and then go back to my routine. The best performance of the night was a tough decision for me because several of the acts did a really great job. Jay Z and Alicia Keys once again did their performance of “Empire State Of Mind” from Jay’s Blueprint 3. Later on in the night Alicia performed “Sleeping With A Broken Heart” from her upcoming The Element Of Freedom album. Even Lady GaGa who I’m starting to become a fan of had a great performance with “Bad Romance” followed by “Speechless” on her follow-up album, The Fame Monster. I’m sure Def Jam is kicking themselves for letting Lady GaGa slip through the cracks only to land beside Akon’s Kon Live label; and imprint of Interscope Records.

The performance that stole the show for the night in my opinion was Black Eyed Peas. They had the whole auditorium on their feet with their melody of performances starting with “Meet Me Halfway” followed by “I Gotta Feeling” and the show-stopping performance of “Boom Boom Pow” mixed with Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit”. They had everyone jumping like Rock fans. Even I literally jumped out of my seat and was rocking out to their performance. Even the other two members, Taboo and apl.de.ap who never really stood out in the past had a really great stage presence.  

All the performances for the night were pretty impressive and it seemed as though this award show featured more performances that usual. Other performances including Whitney Houston, Timbaland featuring SoShy and Nelly Furtado, Carrie Underwood and others were all equally great. With every good there’s always a bad, and that pretty much summed up Rihanna’s performance. Well perhaps I wouldn’t categorize it as “bad”, but they made such a fuss over her performance being her come-back performance, and it was just blah. She performed “The Wait Is Ova” and “Hard” from her upcoming Rated R album which I think was a poor choice for a come-back. No one in the crowd seemed to be familiar with that record so the feedback wasn’t as great as her entourage may have hoped it would be. I actually like that song but again, nothing about her performance was noteworthy. Then there was J-Lo, the other come-back performance of the night which included her falling on her ass. Jenny still looked fabulous per usual and her body is still in pretty good shape post babies, but again her performance was nothing to write home about. The most entertaining part of her performance was indeed that slip and fall, but like a true entertainer she got right back up and kept it moving.

Overall the performances were well worth me peeping in every so often to watch the show. Some of which I still have to watch once again because I’ve either missed them partially or entirely. Notice I didn’t even mention Janet Jackson’s opening performance. I missed her performance and definitely would like to go back and watch that most of all. From what I’ve heard about it she didn’t seem to really make much of an impression, but I’ll be the judge of that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

