She Is Focused

November 13, 2009

Freestyle Friday

Filed under: Uncategorized — Felicia @ 11:16 am

In anticipation of an upcoming Freestyle concert I’m attending, I wanted to give those who were unfamiliar an intro. Nu ShoozI’m not referring to Hip-Hop Freestyle battles but rather the huge phenomenon that trumped all other genres of music; until the Hip-Hop culture began to spread wildly.

Before I became a fan of Hip-Hop and R&B, Freestyle was my genre of choice. Artists from Nu Shooz, Full Force, Lisa Lisa & Cult JamLisa Lisa & Cult Jam and others were some of my favorites. Some of the artists I knew by name and others I came across later on. Even artists like Paula Abdul and Vanessa Williams dabbled in Freestyle earlier in their careers with chart-toppers “Cold Hearted” and “The Right Stuff” respectively, although it’s easy to confuse Freestyle with Pop/Dance mixes which were closer to their category of music.

The thing I probably liked most about Freestyle back in the 80’s was the genre’s seemingly free-spirited nature. To piggyback on my love of this style of music I also enjoyed the movies that came out around that time as well. Vanity 6Purple Rain is an all-time favorite movie of mine and the movie featured Prince’s onscreen and off-screen love interest Vanity. In the movie Vanity 6, a group which she led, became popular during that time for their hit song “Nasty Girl”. Shortly thereafter my love for Hip-Hop slowly crept in after watching movies like Beat Street and later on Crush Groove.

So in anticipation of the concert here are songs from Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam and Nu Shooz that still get heavy rotation in my iPod.

Nu Shooz “Point Of No Return”

Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam “Head To Toe”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

