She Is Focused

October 15, 2009

From Delusions to Fruition: Jaguar Wright

Filed under: Interviews — Felicia @ 4:27 pm

Originally posted on Rolling Out

Soul Singer Jaguar Wright Talks About her Evolution

Monday, 12 October 2009 16:19 Felicia J. Barclay

Jaguar Wright, Soul and R&B’s fearless songstress readies for the debut of her upcoming EP Beautiful, set for a November release. After a recent performance at New York’s S.O.B.’s Ms. Wright sat down to discuss her new jawn, the message she thrives to deliver through her songs and her musical legacy. –felicia j. barclay 

JaguarWright4You have two albums under your belt (Denials, Delusions and Decisions and Divorcing Neo 2 Marry Soul) what have you been working on anything musically during the gap?

Growing, writing, taking care of my family, starting and finishing my novel, Denials, Delusions and Decisions: How Didn’t You Know, living and being an artist. 

Is Beautiful a preview for any future full album releases coming from you?

No, the album won’t be the same name but the EP is which comes out November 24th

How is the music on this album different from your previous albums?

It’s an evolution of me. What I’ve learned…I’m so in love with these songs that I’m writing, so in love. 

Which producers do you have on this EP?

Just one, Karma Productions. 

What type of message do you generally like to get across with your music? 

You’re not alone and someone understands and feels what you’re feeling. And has the voice to put that out into the universe. That’s really what my music is about, just connecting with humanity and being a proper vessel and conveying the human condition. 

What separates you from other neo soul/r&b singers like Jill Scott, Mary J. Blige, Alicia Keys, etc.? 

I’m set-apart; I’m not like anyone or anything else. I think what sets me apart is my ability to not be afraid, to be fearless. Even in the midst of tragedy. 

Who are some of your musical influences

Any and everything that’s great. From Jazz, Rock, Soul, Blues, Classical, etc. I stopped saying names because it took me too long to get through the list. 

In your opinion what signifies success in your career? 

When you see a tear fall from someone’s eyes; many times. 

What’s the one thing people should know (whether its producers, songwriters, other artists, etc.) when they choose to work with you? 

We go hard or we go home. That’s it. When I die, I hope the world knows how much I loved doing my job. And how amazing it felt on the days when I actually got to do it. This is more than a job for me. This is my life, this is my life’s worth and my legacy. This is what I leave for my children to talk about when I’m cold and in a casket. This is my epithet.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

