She Is Focused

September 25, 2009

Reality TV Takeover

Filed under: Chat 'bout — Felicia @ 4:02 pm

It’s officially over for you if you get hooked and reeled in. I was recently in a meeting, a very important one at that, and about 45 minutes into different slide shows and presentations I found myself singing “Don’t Be Tardy For The Party”. If you have no idea what song I’m referring to, then pat yourself on the back for not becoming a victim of reality TV.

Watching these programs aren’t reflective of your taste in entertainment, inamateurhour fact it seems Reality TV has bodied regular TV programs a lot in the past few years. Unscripted television really kick started in the late 40’s with shows like Candid Camera  and Ted Mack’s Original Amateur Hour. Today’s MTV generation got their kicks with shows like The Real World which is up to its 22 season and still going strong. Then over the years VH1 jumped on the bandwagon along with BET, BRAVO and others. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good “reality” beat down just like the next person, but some of these shows are utterly ridiculous. It’s to the point now where it’s clearly staged and a lot of the situations aren’t real at all, yet they’re still very much entertaining.

These days it seems like any and everybody are being given a show. Eddie Griffith, Monica, Fantasia, Antonio Sabato, Jr, and other random celebrities are being followed by cameras to allow us a glimpse into their grueling lives filled with big houses, big cars and big silicone enhancements. RHOAOne of my favorites by far is The Real Housewives  series. Particularly New Jersey and Atlanta.

Recently Atlanta “housewife” Kim Zolciak released a track produced by her co-star Kandi Burruss (formerly of R&B group Xscape) titled “Don’t Be Tardy For The Party”. If you follow the show you know Kim can’t sing a lick, but Kandi really put golden touch on this song and turned it into a pretty dare I say, decent song! Of course auto-tune was in full effect but I think Jay-Z would even give his approval on this.

Then you have the VH1 lineup which includes former shows Flavor Of Love, I Love New York, I Love Money, Daisy Of Love and most recently Real Chance Of Love. These shows are my favorite because most of the folks on there have a false sense of what it takes to achieve and reach their objectives and will stop at nothing for their 15 minutes of fame. They make it seem as though they have no other choice but to go on these shows as their ultimate last chance at love or success. The ones that actually seem like have it together always get me because I question why they agree to do these shows in the first place.

I say all this to say, I have Don\’t Be Tardy For The Party stuck in my head and I’ve officially become a victim of the reality TV nonsense. However you can’t judge me, in fact I know you won’t. Simply because I’m confident you’re also a victim. Admit it, once you get home from a long day in the office and unwind, on any given Sunday or Monday night what better way to convince yourself that you’re living the good life like watching women on the tube arguing and carrying on about a man whose probably more into the man behind the camera than them?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

