She Is Focused

June 22, 2009

Behind The Scenes: The Brooklyn Hip-Hop Festival

Filed under: Behind The Scenes,Chat 'bout — Felicia @ 2:56 pm

BHHFThis past weekend was the 5th Annual Brooklyn Hip-Hop Festival which took place at the Empire Fulton Ferry State Park in Dumbo, Brooklyn. The event celebrates Hip-Hop culture through performance and family togetherness and once again has drawn a large audience of spectators for Saturday afternoon’s performances. Some of the artists headlining were Pharoahe Monch, Styles P, Dead Prez, Buckshot, Brand Nubian, Smif-N-Wesson and lots of others. My review on the performances will be posted later.

I enjoyed myself at the show as I did last year, except this year the weather was horrible. The concert portion of the day is usually held out in the open field under the Manhattan Bridge, but because of the rainy weather there was a tent set up so the artists can perform comfortable. A lot of those in the crowd stood huddled under the large tent. I opted to keep my space and umbrella backstage. I was able to hear the performances just as well. I also got a chance to see some of the performers before they got on the stage.

Brand NubianOne of the first people I saw right after their performance was Grand Puba of Brand Nubian. He’s a very jolly guy just like he’s always been. It’s really cool to see rappers of yesterday age yet still have a love for the art. A lot of times I find myself staring at these artists from a distance, not because I’m star struck, but because I like to get a quick glimpse of their mannerisms and their swagger (I told myself I would never use that word on my site, but it was fitting). Another artist I saw was Styles P. and Sheek of the Lox. Styles is really short; no surprise there. A lot of artists are much shorter than how they appear on screen. The first time I’ve ever met Styles was back in high school when they performed at the Amway arena in Orlando, FL. He had a really snotty attitude then and that moment has always left a lasting impression of my opinion of him. They did a really great job on stage. You can hear the crowd get extra amped as they both performed We Gon Make It although ‘Kiss was absent; one of my favorites from the group.

Another group I was happy to catch a glimpse of was Dead Prez. Dead PrezThey haven’t really put out too many albums during the course of their joint career, but they’re one of those groups who you don’t mind waiting in the wings for because you know they’re going to deliver. Below is a video of Dead Prez performing “It’s Bigger Than Hip-Hop” (doesn’t that song forever make you wish Dave Chapelle will resurface on television)? Check back later for the review.

Editor’s Update: You at times when you’re watching the news and there’s always some weirdo in the background doing something obnoxious behind the reporter? That so could’ve been me! I was standing right in that general area where the first part of this video was filmed. Had I known I would have been able to locate this video I would’ve jumped and waved or something!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

