She Is Focused

April 13, 2009

Get To Know: Filmmaker, Angus Prospere

Filed under: Get To Know,Interviews — Felicia @ 4:54 pm

Angus Prospere of LiveWyre Pictures

by: Felicia J. Barclay

 

Who: Angus Prospere, Filmmaker

Time In: 14 Years

Hometown: Boston, MA; Orlando, FL

I’ve had the privilege of conducting many interviews with both artists and producers who have made their mark and continue to do so in the music industry. We’ve discussed everything from the start of their careers to their individual successes that they’ve rightfully achieved.

Here I’ll be introducing you to local talent who may not have achieved household-name status, but have accomplished attainments in their own rite.  

The first individual I’d like to highlight is an up and coming filmmaker currently residing in Orlando, FL. Angus Prospere has done several projects for many local artists in the Central Florida area and his work has allowed him to developed a reputable name for himself. Below he sits down to talk about his humble beginnings, the highs and lows he’s experienced in his career and the first empty promise that didn’t stop his hustle.   

SheIsFocused: How long have you been directing and which local artists have you worked with?

Angus Prospere: I’ve been working on my craft since 1995. Worked with a lot of various independent artists and labels. I’ve done some work with the WARHEDZ (M3\’s \”Frontline Soldiers\” ), an Orlando-based Hip Hop group. I pretty much introduced them to filmmaking and getting the whole visual side of their production put together. I’ve also worked with Mo Muzik Entertainment also from Orlando. Done a commercial for a local clothing store with Lil Jon which was my first project after moving to Atlanta for a short period of time. And I’ve done some work on a movie back in 2007 called Never Back Down. I love working  with indie labels and artists. I definitely wanna work with the top artist as well but I do love working w/the small guys . The small guys with budgets Lol !!!

SheIsFocused: What stage have you reached in your career?

Angus Prospere: Even though I’m 14 years in, I still feel like I’m a beginner. I definitely want to do bigger things and be able to do music videos with bigger artists. A lot of them are making music where I feel like I can help express visuals. Kanye West is someone who I’d like to work with as well as Jay-Z and a lot of young new artists. I also want to be able to establish my production company, Livewyre Pictures, even further and make movies. That’s where I see myself truly becoming a filmmaker. 

SheIsFocused: Tell me about your earlier days getting started as a director.

Angus Prospere: I had a lot of support from friends and family. I was 16-years-old when I decided I wanted to be a director. As the years went by there were a lot of ups and downs, so it looked like I was just being a slacker. Over the years my family has done a lot of different things to show that they support me, but at the same time it’s very frustrating because I want them to know that I’m not some guy that just wants to try and dodge life’s responsibilities. I feel like there’s a voice inside of me that knows that I can do this and that there are stories and visuals out there that needs to come out.

SheIsFocused: Tell me some of the high points you’ve reached so far in your career.

Angus Prospere: I would say in June 2007 working on a music video for an artist named Heavy (Heavy in \”Fly As Hell\”). The video turned out to be successful and here I am in editing, and I get a phone call from a good friend/mentor named Olivier Arnesen. He tells me he’s working on a small film from a studio called Summit Entertainment and wanted to include me in it. He then says I should be getting a phone call from the production company. I received the phone call and next thing you know I’m working on this $20 million dollar movie. It felt really cool to get a phone call like that. That’s how you always wish it could go down. It was a nice connect to have.

SheIsFocused.com: What were some lows?

Angus Prospere: After coming back from my first trip to L.A. it seemed like there was so much that was gonna happen out there. I got to work with Master P, but I was back on the plane headed back home to the east coast and I had only danced with some agencies. I didn’t get signed.

SheIsFocused: Who are some people in your industry who you admire?

Angus Prospere: Gordon Parks because he was the first Black man to helm a studio picture, Spike Lee, John Singleton, Hype Williams, Steven Spielberg, etc. Also Jay-Z and Diddy I feel they will be major film financiers and could help redefine what urban/black films are in the future! Definitely Matty Rich. He’s the guy that really made me want to do this. He made a film in 1991 called Straight Outta Brooklyn Seeing this guy getting up for an award in Hip-Hop as opposed to Hollywood attire made me feel like there’s this whole new era about to start. Directors can be young and Hip-Hop. I said this is what I want to do.

SheIsFocused: What are some projects outside of music videos you’ve worked on in the past?

Angus Prospere: I work on a lot of still photography. Also commercials for a lot of the clubs in the Central Florida and Tampa area. I’ve also done stuff for a couple pharmacies, worked on commercials for local restaurants. It feels good to help out inner city businesses that don’t have any other way of getting on television. It makes me feel like I have a purpose and I’m doing something. It lets people know that they exist. It feels good being a voice for the small guys.

SheIsFocused: What do you think is hindering you the most from getting maximum exposure?

Angus Prospere: I think it’s a mixture of location and the type of projects I’m doing. For the last year and a half I’ve been dealing with some issues that caused me to have to put my film career on the backseat for a minute. It was still moving, amongst all that madness I still did a video. Things like that make me feel good because when you come into this business you have to sell yourself so hard. There’s usually a time and period of people not buying, but you gotta keep selling yourself. Even though I’ve gone through some legal issues and someone still approached me to do a video, it shows that people like and respect my work. It’s all about relationships.

SheIsFocused: In your words describe what a filmmaker/director does.

Angus Prospere: A filmmaker tells a story. What we are today is what those guys were that gathered around camp fires telling stories to entertain their families years ago. That’s pretty much what directors are today. We’re the ones telling a story incorporating modern technology, cameras, lighting, special effects, actors, location, etc.

SheIsFocused: When was the first time you’ve been given an empty promise?

Angus Prospere: In ’96 I finished my second video and the guys I did the video for showed it to a record label, and the label was impressed. I spoke with them, and they told me that they wanted to sign me to the label. They said they were a different label and wanted me to be a part of history in the making. So basically they told me to give them a figure of how much money I would need for the year. I gave them a number and they thought it was a little high, so we re-negotiated another figure that would allow me to be their in-house director. They sent me the contract which I signed, and then nothing happened. I never heard back from them or anything. I called them and they kept giving me the run around. But I kept it moving, I was never one to mope around.

SheIsFocused: What future projects do you have in the works?

Angus Prospere: I’m in talks with a couple artists; Red Rock and Infa Red. They’re two artists from Orlando. I’m also working on a script which I think is a really good story idea. I have more photo shoots as well. Sometimes I feel frustrated that I’m not exactly where I want to be success-wise, but a lot of my childhood friends always remind me that I’m living my dream. By the way, did I mention that I’m excited about this new script I’m working on??    

Contact Info:

Angus Prospere, LiveWyre Pictures

www.myspace.com/angusprospere

www.twitter.com/angusprospere

angusprospere@yahoo.com

407.860.7739 phone

3 Comments »

  1. Great article. He did a video for me, and come to think of it you were in it as well.

    Comment by Alton E. Matthews — April 14, 2009 @ 12:52 pm | Reply

  2. Good interview, you can tell this man
    is truly focused in what he’s doin.
    He got a big name in the O when it comes to videos..
    i cant wait till he comes out w/a movie.

    Comment by KILLAH KELZ — April 14, 2009 @ 1:22 pm | Reply

  3. Damn Uncle. It’s crazy that this article would be able to vocalize the way that I feel about you. I know that you know that I’ve always admired your dedication to you craft but I probably never actually said it to you. You’re partly the reason why this music industry is the main thing on my mind right now when I’m only 17. I remember when I was like 7 or 8 and I saw that “I Rain” video that you directed. I remember replaying it countless times until I could actually play it in my mind without anything missing from the story line. Now that I think about it, I still have some clips in my head lol. Well the main point is that that video was just as responsible as making me into the person I am as my favorite childhood book, “I was born in a tree, and raised by bees”. Everything and everyone you touch is blessed. I’m glad that you’re my uncle.

    Comment by Martin Prospere — May 2, 2009 @ 7:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

