She Is Focused

March 29, 2009

Newark to Negrils

Filed under: Uncategorized — Felicia @ 11:12 pm

Week-end Wrap 3/22 – 3/28/09

Is it just me, or are the weeks flying by? We’re already at the end of March, and I still feel like I just celebrated Christmas not that long ago. I guess that’s what happens when you’re having fun. I spent the last week of March 2009 doing everything from taking a visit to Newark, stopping by my girlfriend’s office with a bottle of her favorite wine and shopping with friends visiting from out of town. 

The last-minute trip to Jersey was an adventure in itself. My girlfriend and I took the PATH train to the Prudential Center in downtown Newark. It took us forever just trying to figure out which metrocard/pass/ticket we had to purchase. Two trains later we made it to the venue to see performances by Busta Rhymes, Movado, Akon and others. We had a good time despite arriving little late…ok, well about an hour late, but we still made it! We had a great time dancing and singing along. Movado was just wrapping up his set donned in an all white suit to a great reception from the crowd. Then Busta hit the stage alongside Splifstar performing both old and new titles. He got a bigger response from the crowd performing his older hits like “Put Your Hands Where My Eye’s Can See” and “Pass The Courvoisier”; while the crowd was still moving to “Arab Money” and another track from his upcoming album Back On My Bullsh*t, the response wasn’t as strong as the older material. He then brought on surprise guest Beenie Man to a thunderous roar performing some of his classic hits alongside adding his own tinge to Busta’s records. 

After Busta and Beenie finished, Akon was next opening with “Locked Up” followed by his hook from 50’s “Still Will Kill”. Shortly after we left. Not because we’re not Akon fans, I mean, I don’t own any of his records; but we had a long journey back to the city.

I spent Friday after work stopping by the offices of Bad Boy Worldwide. While in the lobby waiting for the elevator, someone stopped me and asked, “are you a model?” While this may be flattering to some, I find myself getting a little offended at times. Do you assume i’m a model because i’m heading up to Warner Music Group, Inc.? No buddy i’m a writer, no not just any writer, i’m a journalist…this is the answer I conjured up in my head, but I responded with a “no i’m not, i’m a writer, here’s my card”. The elevator came just in time before he finished up his speech about his music being on the radio.

It was pretty quiet as most of the folks were down in Miami for a weekend long event. I brought along my girlfriend’s favorite bottle of wine as we chopped it up about our plans for the weekend and upcoming trip to Atlanta. After about an hour or so I caught the train back to Queens. My visit was short, yet productive.

Saturday was spent catching up with some high school buddies in town for the weekend. Luckily they’re both native New Yorkers, so we didn’t have to do the tourist stuff. We did head over to the zoo; 34th Street that is. Everytime I go to 34th Street I have to mentally prepare myself for the pushing and hustling. Despite the frenzy we did enjoy each other’s company. We ended the day having lunch at Negril’s in Chelsea. The food there is exquisite and you can never get tired of it. I ordered my usual, the curry shrimp with peas and rice (rice and peas for you yardies). At the end we thought we were getting over on the waitor because our bill was lower than expected, but then soon realized that we ordered from their lunch menu.

That was my week-end wrap in a nutshell. I’m now off to finish up some transcribing from a recent interview, then off to start a brand new week. Chat soon!

– Fel

2 Comments »

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    Comment by matt — March 30, 2009 @ 6:24 pm | Reply

  2. Ok, so you description of Busta and Beenie Man on stage have me waving my hand and doing the ‘island whine.’

    Umm, the model question is a compliment Fel lol. That means you have a nice physique and face. You could have gotten signed on the spot lol. But, I know what you mean – the think we are models because we are slim and trim, and we are beautiful.

    I finally found a blog that I don’t mind ready and commenting on without getting my head chewed off for my honest comments.

    Comment by Almesha — March 31, 2009 @ 3:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

